Mark Hayes


Author of the Hannibal Smyth Misadventures, The Ballad of Maybes series and his first two books, Passing Place and Cider Lane, Mark Hayes writes novels that often defy simple genre definitions; they could be described as speculative fiction, though Mark would never use the term as he prefers not to speculate. When not writing novels, Mark once had fleeting renown as a dancer on the shores of midnight and was born on the same day that Lovecraft died, though he swears these events are not related. He is also a 9 n’tupence Dan Black Belt in the ancient Yorkshire martial art of EckEThump, favours black eyeliner and believes in a one man one vote system but has yet to supply the name of the man in question.

Mark has also been known to not take writing his bio very seriously.




The 'A Ballad of Maybes' Series


Maybes Daughter (forthcoming)


The Hannibal Smyth Misadventures 

A Spider in the Eye

From Russia With Tassels

A Squid on the Shoulder (forthcoming)


Other books 

Cider lane : Of Silences and Stars

Passing Place : Location Relative

A Scar of Avarice (novella)

Cheesecake, Avarice and Boots (anthology)


Also featured in 

Harvey Duckman Presents

Volume's 1,2,3,4,5,6

Harvey Duckman Specials





Lexicormicon : A Bluffers Guide to the Writings of HP Lovecraft